Twitter Delicious Facebook Digg Stumbleupon Favorites More

Thirteen Rugby World Cup 2011 Venues

The 13 venues or places for the 2011 Rugby World Cup were announced on 12 March 2009.
AucklandEden Park63,000*
AucklandNorth Harbour Stadium35,000*
WhangareiNorthland Events Centre25,000
HamiltonWaikato Stadium40,000*
RotoruaRotorua International Stadium35,000
New PlymouthYarrow Stadium24,000
NapierMcLean Park22,000
Palmerston NorthArena Manawatu20,000*
WellingtonWestpac Stadium40,000*
NelsonTrafalgar Park16,000
ChristchurchAMI Stadium50,000*
DunedinCarisbrook or Forsyth Barr Stadium30,000* or 35,000-38,000
InvercargillRugby Park19,000

Auckland options

On 10 November 2006, the New Zealand Government announced plans for Stadium New Zealand for the 2011 Rugby World Cup. The proposal was to build the new stadium seating 70,000 on the Auckland waterfront. After much public outcry, and lack of support from the Auckland Regional Council, the proposal was dropped in favour of the redevelopment of Eden Park. The redevelopment of Eden Park's Southern and South Western stands was completed during 2010.
Some consents are still to be approved but the Government has announced it is considering passing a law bypassing the consent process to allow all the stadiums' redevelopment to be completed in time for the Rugby World Cup.

Design by Free WordPress Themes | Bloggerized by Lasantha - Premium Blogger Themes | Blogger Templates